The project and the team behind it.

The Digital Democracy Lab supports computational social science research on the implications of digital technology for democracy. It was established in September 2018 at the University of Zurich by Fabrizio Gilardi, Anita Gohdes, and Lucas Leemann, with the generous support of the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Due to the nature of the funding, in the short term (2018-2019) the Digital Democracy Lab will be focused primarily on Switzerland. The medium-term goal is to establish the Digital Democracy Lab as a leading research center for the study of the interaction between digital technology and politics.


Fabrizio Gilardi

Principal Investigator
Professor of Policy Analysis, UZH

Anita Gohdes

Professor of International and Cyber Security, Hertie School

Lucas Leemann

Professor of Comparative Politics, UZH

Clau Dermont

Lab Manager

Lucien Baumgartner

Research assistant

Maël Kubli

Research assistant

Theresa Gessler

Affiliated Postdoc

Stefan Müller

Affiliated Postdoc

Alix d'Agostino


Talks and media

Talks and media appearances by the team.

Project Partners

  • Christopher Bail, Polarization Lab, Duke University
  • Pablo Barberà, Department of Methodology, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Abraham Bernstein, Department of Informatics, University of Zurich
  • Robert Faris, Berkman Klein Center for Internet an Society, Harvard University
  • Urs Gasser, Berkman Klein Center for Internet an Society, Harvard University
  • Andrew Guess, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University
  • Andreas Jungherr, Center for Data and Methods, University Of Konstanz
  • David Lazer, Network Science Institute, Northeastern University
  • Georg Lutz, Swiss Centre of Expertise in the Social Sciences
  • Slava Mikhaylov, Institute for Analytics and Data Science, University of Essex
  • Sophie Mützel, Department of Sociology, University of Lucerne
  • Margaret Roberts, Department of Political Science, University of California, San Diego
  • Uwe Serdült, Zentrum für Demokratie Aarau and Ritsumeikan University
  • Rebekah Tromble, Institute of Political Science, University of Leiden